January 3, 2006

  • I came into work today with much on my mind from an exhausting weekend which made me happy beyond words.  I thought today would be an unproductive start to 2006,  but I have surprised myself yet again.  In the first hour,  i've managed to wrap up two major customer issues which have been plaguing me for the last week and a half.  I am truly thankful to work for such an amazing company surrounded by so many brilliant minds.  And even though I joke sometimes about giving it all up to be a professional poker player,  it really is a joy to walk into the office every day.

    2005 was a year full of change for me.  I think i've learned more over the past year,  then I had in the previous five.  I shouldn't take anything for granted.  Health.  Friendships. Family. Relationships. Home.   Over the past year,  I experienced some dramatic highs and lows with all of these.  College (as well as the first couple of years post-college) was relatively stable.  Sure,  it had its dramatic moments but things were relatively calm.   I think God decided to give me a swift kick in the ass (well,  actually a couple) in '05 so I could truly wake up and see what changes I needed to make in my life.   I'm glad that happened.

    I am the happiest I have ever been.  I am madly in love and will make sure I spend as much time as I can with my amazing girlfriend.  I live in a fantastic city.  I want to explore neighboorhoods with which i'm not familiar and move into an amazing apartment which truly feels like home. I truly feel that I can tackle challenges head-on.  My diabetes will not control me,  I will effectively manage my diabetes by lowering my a1c,  eating healthier foods (although I will always be tempted to pick up the spicy thai kettle chips),  moving from injections to an insulin pump,  and regularly testing my blood sugar.  I want to travel.  Vegas. Europe. Australia.  Asia.  Even back to Chicago and the midwest,   since I haven't been back since graduation. 

    I am quite scared/excited/anxious/curious as to what 2006 will bring.  And regardless of how great I feel now,  I know that this year,  things will just get better.

Recent Posts

Categories